Security Council

Committee language: English

The Security Council (Security Council) is the most powerful organ of the United Nations. The SC has " the primary responsibility for maintaining international peace and security" (UN Charter Article 24).
The Security Council consists of five permanent members (Permanent 5- P5) China, France, Great Britain, Russia, and the United States and ten non-permanent members (Elected 10 – E10). Half of the non-permanent members are elected every year for a period of two years. The seated relationship of the non-permanent members between the regional groups is regulated.

In order to pass a resolution, the approval of nine members including all five permanent members is required. This gives the "P5 states" a controversial veto right. Its resolutions are binding under international law if they identify a threat to world peace, which is why it is also considered the most powerful committee of the United Nations.
The Security Council defines and decides whether a particular situation poses a threat or a breach of world peace. In order to secure peace, the Security Council can take on a mediating role or refer states to the International Court of Justice, but it can also impose a wide variety of sanctions, send UN peacekeeping troops (blue helmet soldiers) and authorize (humanitarian) interventions. The Security Council only tries to use military interventions as a last means when other attempts, for example with economic sanctions, have failed.

Topics:

Situation in Libya

Since Ghaddafi’s „removal “in 2011, Libyan had two governments both of which claimed to be the legal one. After the situation reassured with the help of international organisations, general elections had been announced. Unfortunately, these efforts did not come to fruition and in May 2019 General Haftar started an offensive to bring Libya under his control. This conflict escalated in the last months and lead to the deaths of hundreds of people. Therefore, the Security Council of the United Nations has decided to put the situation in Libya on his agenda.

Situation in Syria

The armed conflict in Syria has been raging for eight years now. Armies of the most diverse states and organisations are fighting each other on the two hundred square kilometres of the country in an inhuman pandemic of armed violence. So far, disregard for the UN Charter and independent fighting by individual countries has led to the death of over 1.5 million people and the displacement and flight of a further 6 million. Since previous attempts to pacify Syria have not led to the desired result, the UN Security Council has decided to put the Syrian conflict back on its agenda.

Conflict in Yemen

Since 2013 Yemen experiences war-comparable conditions. After the collapse of the official government, many different groups began fighting over the power in Jemen. This worsened the humanitarian situation in Iraq significantly. According to UN-sources more than 19 million Yemenites are dependant on help. It is on the delegates in the Security Council to solve the conflict and provide the people with opportunities to overcome war and find peace.

Sicherheitsrat

Der Sicherheitsrat (Security Council) ist das wirkmächtigste Gremium der Vereinten Nationen. Das Gremium trägt „die Hauptverantwortung für die Wahrung des Weltfriedens und der internationalen Sicherheit“ (UN-Charta Art. 24).
Der Sicherheitsrat besteht aus den fünf ständigen Mitgliedern (Permanent 5- P5) China, Frankreich, Großbritannien, Russland, und die USA und zehn nichtständigen Mitgliedern (Elected 10 – E10). Die Hälfte der nichtständigen Mitglieder wird jedes Jahr auf eine Dauer von zwei Jahren gewählt. Dabei ist das Sitzverhältnis der nichtständigen Mitglieder zwischen den Regionalgruppen geregelt.

Um eine Resolution zu verabschieden braucht es der Zustimmung von neun Mitgliedern einschließlich aller fünf ständigen Mitglieder. Damit genießen die „P5-Staaten“ ein umstrittenes Vetorecht. Seine Resolutionen sind völkerrechtlich bindend, wenn sie eine Bedrohung des Weltfriedens feststellen, weshalb das Gremium auch als mächtigstes Gremium der Vereinten Nationen gilt.
Der Sicherheitsrat definiert und entscheidet, ob in einer bestimmten Situation eine Gefährdung oder ein Bruch des Weltfriedens vorliegt. Um den Frieden zu sichern, kann der Sicherheitsrat eine Vermittlerrolle einnehmen oder Staaten an den Internationalen Gerichtshof verweisen, aber auch unterschiedlichste Sanktionen verhängen, UN-Friedenstruppen (Blauhelmsoldaten) entsenden und (humanitäre) Interventionen autorisieren. Der Sicherheitsrat versucht militärische Interventionen nur als letztes Mittel zu verwenden, wenn andere Versuche, beispielsweise mit wirtschaftlichen Sanktionen nichts bewirkt haben.

Themen:

Situation in Libyen

In Libyen konkurrieren seit dem Sturz Machthaber Gaddafis im Jahr 2011 zwei Regierungen um die Macht. Nachdem sich die Lage durch internationale Friedensbemühungen beruhigt hat und 2015 sogar einheitliche Wahlen angekündigt waren, die jedoch nie stattfanden, begann die Regierung Ost-Libyens unter General Haftar im Mai 2019 eine Offensive, um ganz Libyen unter seine Gewalt zu bringen. Dieser Konflikt eskalierte in den letzten Monaten zusehends und forderte zahlreiche Todesopfer. Der Sicherheitsrat hat sich deshalb dazu entschlossen die Situation in Libyen auf seine Agenda zu setzen

Situation in Syrien

Seit acht Jahren nun tobt schon der bewaffnete Konflikt in Syrien. Armeen verschiedenster Staaten und Organisationen bekämpfen sich auf den zweihundert Quadratkilometern des Landes in einer menschenverachtenden Pandemie der Waffengewalt. Bisher führten die Missachtung der UN-Charta und die eigenständigen Kampfhandlungen einzelner Länder zum Tod von über 1,5 Millionen Menschen und der Vertreibung und Flucht von weiteren 6 Millionen. Da bisherige Versuche zur Befriedung Syriens nicht zum gewünschten Ergebnis geführt haben, hat sich der UN-Sicherheitsrat dazu entschlossen den Syrienkonflikt wieder auf seine Agenda zu setzen.

Jemen Konflikt

Seit 2013 herrschen im Jemen kriegsartige Zustände. Mit dem Zusammenbruch der offiziellen Regierung begannen verschiedene Gruppen mit aller Gewalt um die Macht im Land zu ringen. Die humanitäre Notlage des Jemens wurde durch diesen Umstand zusehends verschlimmert. Laut Angaben der Vereinten Nationen waren und sind 19 Millionen Jemeniten auf Hilfe angewiesen. Die Delegierten des Sicherheitsrates haben in ihrer Stellung die dringende Aufgabe, eine Lösung für die dortige humanitäre Lage zu finden und Möglichkeiten zu Friedensstiftung aufzubringen.