General Assembly

Committee language: German

The General Assembly (for short UNGA) is the full assembly of the 193 member states of the UN. Each member state has one vote. Thus, the General Assembly is the most likely to live up to the principle of sovereign equality and the idea of giving all members a voice. The General Assembly meets annually at UN headquarters in New York City. 
The General Assembly may discuss practically any issue of international importance that is not dealt with by the Security Council. Its tasks also include the adoption of the UN budget (UN Charter Article 17) and the admission of new member states.

The decisions (resolutions) of the General Assembly are not binding under international law, but only of a recommendatory nature, but are usually taken in consensus with all member states, i.e. unanimously.
Only in internal organizational matters, such as the budget, can the General Assembly, as the supreme organ of the United Nations, take binding decisions.

Themen MUNHN 2020:

Improving equal opportunities in the education system

All children and young people should have the same opportunities for good education. This demand is guaranteed in all UN countries by Article 26 of the human rights, but in practice things often look different: Nowadays, educational prospects depend very much on the level of development of the home country, gender, religion and the social position of the family. Since only education of equal value can ensure equal living conditions, the General Assembly has decided to address the issue.

International fight against terrorism

Terrorism is a constant threat to the freedom of all people, which is why the General Assembly is putting "international counter-terrorism" on its agenda. Terrorist attacks are deeply rooted in our memories, they leave us in fear and grief and change our thinking and actions in the long term. The fear of further attacks is great. It is therefore the duty of all United Nations states to seek ways of dealing with the terrorist threat and to take measures to combat terrorism.

Rainforest conservation agreement

The rainforest is one of the tipping points of climate change; if the deforestation continues at the same rate as today, climate change will be unstoppable. At the moment there is no international agreement, only national agreements. In total, only 47% of the rainforests are under protection. Because the problem cannot be postponed, the General Assembly has put the issue on its agenda.