General Assembly

Committee language: German

The General Assembly (for short UNGA) is the full assembly of the 193 member states of the UN. Each member state has one vote. Thus, the General Assembly is the most likely to live up to the principle of sovereign equality and the idea of giving all members a voice. The General Assembly meets annually at UN headquarters in New York City. 
The General Assembly may discuss practically any issue of international importance that is not dealt with by the Security Council. Its tasks also include the adoption of the UN budget (UN Charter Article 17) and the admission of new member states.

The decisions (resolutions) of the General Assembly are not binding under international law, but only of a recommendatory nature, but are usually taken in consensus with all member states, i.e. unanimously.
Only in internal organizational matters, such as the budget, can the General Assembly, as the supreme organ of the United Nations, take binding decisions.

Themen MUNHN 2021: 

-Förderung des internationalen Freihandels 
-Verbesserung humanitärer Hilfen in Krisengebieten
-Internationale Terrorismusbekämpfung

Generalversammlung

Gremiensprache: Deutsch

Die Generalversammlung (General Assembly, kurz UNGA) ist die Vollversammlung der 193 Mitgliedsstaaten der UN. Jeder Mitgliedsstaat verfügt über eine Stimme. Damit wird die Generalversammlung dem Prinzip der souveränen Gleichheit und der Idee, allen Mitgliedern eine Stimme zu geben, am ehesten gerecht. Jährlich tritt die Generalversammlung im UN-Hauptquartier in New York City zusammen. 
Die GV darf sich mit praktisch jedem Thema auseinander setzten, das von internationaler Bedeutung ist und nicht von dem Sicherheitsrat behandelt wird. Auch zu ihren Aufgaben gehört die Verabschiedung des UN-Haushaltes (UN-Charta Art. 17) und die Aufnahme neuer Mitgliedsstaaten.

Die Entscheidungen (Resolutionen) der Generalversammlung sind völkerrechtlich nicht bindend, sondern nur von empfehlender Natur, werden aber meistens im Konsens mit allen Mitgliedsstaaten, das heißt einstimmig, getroffen.
Nur bei internen organisatorischen Fragen, wie der Haushaltsplan, kann die Generalversammlung als oberstes Organ der Vereinten Nationen bindende Entscheidungen treffen.

Themen MUNHN 2021: 

-Förderung des internationalen Freihandels 
-Verbesserung humanitärer Hilfen in Krisengebieten
-Internationale Terrorismusbekämpfung